Technical Series on the Conceptual Framework for Addressing Acute Malnutrition in Africa’s Drylands

  • Date

    Thursday, October 29, 2020

Event Details

Childhood wasting is an increasing global public health problem and studies have shown that emergency rates of global acute malnutrition persist in the longer-term in some dryland contexts—even in the absence of an obvious emergency and despite ongoing packages of essential nutrition interventions.  A range of experts and practitioners increasingly recognize the problem of persistent global acute malnutrition and the need more effectively prevent malnutrition.

In October and November 2020, the Feinstein International Center and FAO are cohosting a technical series to review the basic drivers of malnutrition in Africa’s drylands and discuss an adapted conceptual framework for addressing acute malnutrition in Africa’s drylands.

Limited details follow. The technical series website has more details.

All events will be in English and French.

Panel 1: Basic drivers of acute malnutrition: environment and seasonality

Date: Thursday, October 22, 2020 from 8:30 to 10am EDT/2:30 to 4pm CEST/3:30 to 5pm EAT

Register here for panel 1

Panel 2: Basic drivers of acute malnutrition: systems and institutions

Date: Thursday, October 29, 2020 from 9:30 to 11am EDT/2:30 to 4pm CET/4:30 to 6pm EAT

Register here for panel 2

Panel 3: Basic drivers of acute malnutrition: dryland livelihood systems, vulnerability, resilience and shocks

Date: Thursday, November 5, 2020 from 8:30 to 10am EST/2:30 to 4pm CET/4:30 to 6pm EAT

Register here for panel 3

Panel 4: Next steps: how drivers of persistent malnutrition shape the response

Date: Thursday, November 12, 2020 from 8:30 to 10am EST/2:30 to 4pm CET/4:30 to 6pm EAT

Register here for panel 4

Learn more about the technical series here.

Recent News View All

Media Contact

Lisa LaPoint
lisa.lapoint@tufts.edu

Phone: (617) 636-3707